First OB Appointment


Well, I had my first OB appointment at the Naval Hospital today.  So far I really like the facility and the people.  Everyone is very nice, very friendly, and the facility is really nice.  Though, it can be a bit confusing because the decor and colors are repeated on each floor, and the layouts are extremely similar.  One really has to pay attention to where they’re going to get where they need to go the first couple times.

This was a relatively uneventful visit, since it was the first.  Of course, there was all the paperwork to fill out.  We even got there a half hour early to do that, and it still took us two hours to finish everything they wanted to do today.  The paperwork was paperwork, same ol’ same ol’.

We then had a small meeting with a nurse, which basically just went over the paperwork a second time, had a couple questions answered.  Apparently they will be giving me “their” prenatal vitamins, but they aren’t opposed to the ones I’ve already been taking.  Theirs just has extra iron in it.  We chose ones without iron at this time because I do get a fair amount of meat in my diet, so we were hoping to wait for the blood tests to see just where my levels were.

On that note, on to the final part of the appointment.  Yes, I had to give samples, both urinary and blood.  Nothing new.  Though, I have to say my blood drawing was certainly interesting.  My veins aren’t really visible.  They never really have been, at least in the area where they like to take blood.  You can see the veins leading up to the crease of my elbow, but they seem to disappear after that.  My left arm has always been the one that seem to yield the best results, so we tried that one today.  She used a straight needle, honestly, I’ve never been told before today which one would be used so I’m not sure what’s been used in comparison.  My vein didn’t like that.  It took the first vial like a champ, but sputtered out shortly after starting the second vial.  After removing the needle, there was a mild bubble of blood under my skin, we’ll see how that looks later. 🙂

Even with seven years experience, she wasn’t completely comfortable with feeling out the veins in my right arm.  I don’t blame her, my right arm isn’t the best place to take blood.  So, she got the other woman (“super woman” or somesuch she called her) to finish up my vials.  This time a butterfly needle was used, and it seemed to do just fine.  However, it didn’t take the first shove in, and the angle had to be adjusted to get the vein.  It wasn’t that bad, just a little weird feeling.  I do believe they took 6-7 different vials, which I think is more than I’ve ever seen taken before.  And yes, I could definitely feel a difference.  😛  Thank goodness James had some lunch leftover in the car when we left.  I needed the tidbit.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

