(TMI) Morning Sickness


Well, this will be a shorty.

I had my first experience with “morning sickness” this morning, ironically before my first OB appointment.

I was in the bathroom this morning, getting ready for the day, right before I brushed my teeth.  I’m really glad I hadn’t gotten dressed for the day yet, and that there was really nothing in my stomach.  That could have been really, really bad.

A little back story with me and upchucking:

Honestly, without being really sick, I just don’t get so nauseous that I throw up.  I can remember on less than one hand the amount of times in the last ten years that I’ve just needed to throw up immediately.  I don’t get overly nauseous, mostly it is just a severe annoyance, and something I can handle with pure will-power.

Not what happened this morning.  😀

I teetered a moment, had to grab the sink, then just decided that I needed to be on the floor.  Seemed like a much smarter place to be in that moment.  Thankfully, the toilet isn’t far at all, I basically just tossed up the lid and gripped the side and felt the convulsions.  Thankfully it wasn’t much, and there really wasn’t anything other than bile.  Granted, bile is not my favored thing to toss up if I have a choice in the matter.  It’s just not a pleasant experience all the way around.  It really blew me away (ha ha) that it hit me that hard, and that fast.  Now I know that I need to be aware, especially in the morning, and perhaps take the advice of keeping a gentle snack by the bed for trying to ward off the eventual need to toss my cookies.

I can definitely see, especially after sleeping, that having something almost immediately will be a good idea.  I don’t really just get up and go get breakfast most days, it usually takes me a bit to get organized and to do my routine before I head down for my morning sustenance.  Guess I’ll have to start rethinking my morning routine.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

