Yet another Passing – Hemi


So, a few nights ago, Hemi took another turn for the worse, but it was no different than the last however many times it had happened in the past year.  We did what we could as usual, making sure he got attention throughout the days, trying to get him food and water, and cleaning him when his bladder couldn’t hold any longer.

He seemed weaker than usual after a few days, but we figured because of the state of half-better he’d been in since being on the anti-biotics the vet gave him.

Thursday night, we were hanging out at home, watching a movie, and hearing a sound, I thought I should check on him.  Not sure why, didn’t really seem like a sound that he’d make, but something made me want to check on him.

I did, and he seemed to breath harshly, so I picked him up.  He was very limp, but he was responding.  I was worried with how limp he was, so I brought him to the living room to show James.  I had him cradled, my hand on his chest, feeling for his heartbeat.  It was there, and seemed strong, as far as I could tell, so we watched the last few minutes of the movie, with me keeping my hand on his heartbeat.  I couldn’t feel it after a couple of moments, and basically started breaking down.  James took Hemi from me and told me to call the hospital.

I did so I could find out where the local emergency vet was, and I’m glad he had me do it, because doing that and driving to the place while he help Hemi really helped me keep things together.  I didn’t have much hope honestly, and they confirmed a few minutes after we arrived that they weren’t finding a heartbeat.  They asked about his history, and we told them what little we knew, and that nothing was found in the past to explain it.

We decided to bury him in the back yard, and they gave him a box for that, and sealed it.  James dug the hole near the back of our property, within eyesight of the road leading in to our little culdesac.  We have plans for doing something a little more elaborate and permanent, but unfortunately things have just been hectic for us.  I am making plans slowly for getting some nice topsoil, some special flowers, some rocks and a hand-painted ceramic something to mark the spot.

We loved you Hemi…though we only had you for 11 months.  You filled a hurting heart for me, which hadn’t had any closure from the disappearance of Schroeder.  And I thank you, and James for that.  It seems a bit easier this time, because of the finality of it, but it doesn’t hurt any less.  Just differently.  I’m going to miss you terribly, and I’m sure James is going to as well.  Rest in peace, my little man.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

