So much to catch up on…


I’ve been itching for weeks to write, but until we attended our first ultrasound and had proof that things were going well, we were determined not to tell anyone.  And now that we have, I’ve come up at a bit of a loss as to where to start.  There was so much going on, but now it’s all mish-mashed together in my head.

Well, for some of the nitty-gritty about being pregnant, some things were definitely similar to the last time, much of it was completely different. 

Cravings:  First time around?  I’m not proud to admit this, but it was Doritos (Nacho cheese, no other flavor would do) and Zebra Cakes.  Now, it’s more of an awareness of what my body is needing more than anything else, and sometimes an easier time making decisions on what I want to have, instead of putzing around aimlessly and then not really eating anything.  It’s kind of a nice change.  If only I could do that when I’m not pregnant!

Pain:  Yeah, boob pain (you can’t say that word without smiling, and if you can, you take things too seriously) is about par for the course.  When it’s really bad, I definitely have to wear a sports bra to bed.  And I’m finding that not all days are horrible, some days it’s very manageable.  The first few weeks were definitely the worst, as they really started to get bigger.  Joint pain is also something that I’ve found out is quite normal.  Doesn’t mean it’s not annoying, though.  Headaches are just starting, and sometimes we think it’s due to dehydration, but even when I’m hydrating a lot, I think it’s because of being out in the sun.  We haven’t pegged it down, but I hope we do soon.  Headaches are really not something I like dealing with, and since meds are a last resort now…

Hydrating:  For someone that doesn’t drink a lot of water to begin with, it’s pretty insane how much they want me to drink in a single day.  But at least I can break it up with other things like milk and juice, and other liquids that aren’t necessarily drinks, but also aren’t diuretics like coffee and tea and soda.  And let me tell you the amount of trips to the bathroom is a bit annoying, especially when my body decides to hold off a good portion of the day before letting you know it’s time to go.  Sometimes it’s up to more than five times in an hour.  And I’ve noticed that it’s worse in the evenings than it is in the rest of the day.

This one is going to be a bit of TMI, but hey, it’s reality, especially an issue that can be very important with pregnant women.  Constipation:  I’ve had an issue with it this time around and it’s hard to get around.  I’ve tried a lot of things, staying hydrated, changing my diet, things like that, which help…but I don’t feel it’s helping enough.  For more than a week at the beginning of the month, I had a horrible time.  I had no energy, nothing I did helped.  I felt sick, couldn’t do much moving around, and around that time (possibly longer), I wasn’t having bowel movements.  From late July to mid August, I had gained about 10-15 pounds centered around constipation, bloating, retaining water…it was not fun.  Changing my diet a heck of a lot more than I had been already has helped, but it’s not a guarantee, nor is it something that sticks.  I still have issues with it.  I can go days without bowel movements and sometimes I think it wreaks more havoc on my psyche than it does my body.  I worry about it a lot, because I know it’s not good that I’m often retaining a lot of things I shouldn’t be.  I hope this is something that lessens in severity over time, but I really honestly don’t expect it will get easier.

Emotions/Moods:  Yep, definitely finding my moods shifting and sometimes pretty freakishly.  I usually only have maybe one or two stress-related emotional break-downs a year.  Which is pretty freaking good considering my previous track record with emotions.  What can I say, James is good for me. 🙂  I’m more aware of the shifts, but it’s frustrating because they’re hormone driven and not nearly as controllable as stress-driven mood shifts for me.  And when I get frustrated over my own mood swings, that really doesn’t help anything.  I’m learning that sometimes I just need some time to get the energy out of me to let it pass.  I can’t just try to stop it, because that’s just not a good thing, and not healthy.  If you’re feeling something, you have to allow yourself to get through the stages of experiencing that feeling, in order to get past it.  Thankfully, James is pretty darned understanding and insanely patient with me.

Napping:  Yep, not something I’ve ever really prescribed to.  If I slept unless sick or completely and utterly over-worked, it messed with my sleep schedule.  So, most of the time, I just never napped.  James had to literally put me to bed the other day for a nap because I broke down for no apparent reason both physically and emotionally.  I’m learning that I need to rest more even though it’s early on.  I need to pace myself better and not get too distracted with something.  We’re also learning that heat also drains me a heck of a lot quicker than a cool temperature does.  So on those really oppressively warm days when the living room gets ungodly warm, I need to vacate to a cooler part of the house (namely downstairs).  And yes, before you non-Washingtonians pipe up, we’ve had no rain for weeks, possibly a month now.  It’s hardly been cloudy at all, and for some reason the sun when not masked even partially by clouds it’s surprisingly oppressive, and I’ve experienced summer in both New England and the South.  The only saving grace lately is that the sun’s going down earlier now, and not at 9pm or later.

There’s probably more to catch up on, but I’ll do that soon and in another post.  🙂  It’s good to be back, it’s good to be pregnant, and it’s good to be sharing this experience again!

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

