Closing in on 16 weeks.


So, we’re approaching 16 weeks.  Which means that on Friday I will be having my 16 week OB appointment.  I definitely have some questions for them, considering the things I’m experiencing versus some of the things I’ve been reading up on each week.

The biggest one I’ve been thinking about is where my uterus seems to be, versus where it seems like it should be considering how far along I am, and what I’ve been reading.  From doppler use, and just feeling around, we have figured that the uterus is still extremely low, not the couple inches under my belly button that I keep reading it’s supposed to be.

I know that it could just not have shifted up yet, but it’s getting bigger, and getting very uncomfortable.  I’ve only got so much room down there, and it’s no wonder that I’m having a hard time having BMs once they get low enough to pass. 

As of a few weeks ago, when I would lay on my back, the uterus was small enough that it settled back and I couldn’t feel it by pressing to my lower belly.  Now, I can feel the curve of it in the flat lower section under my belly button.  But I’m feeling it VERY low, and protruding in the space under where my hair grows.  It worries me a bit, because it is so uncomfortable at times.  Sometimes it’s not so bad, and it’s not really that painful, but it certainly gets uncomfortable and makes me very wary of bending at the waist too much.

I hope it’s just a case of a delayed move upward, if anything.

I wish I could have an ultrasound, and I’ll probably ask, but they do not have one scheduled for this visit.  It’s been a bit of a pain, not having any appointments or ultrasounds for the last 6 weeks, which is why James got me the little portable doppler system so that I could listen to the heartbeat whenever I wanted, or whenever I started feeling worried over the health of the baby.

Considering I’ve had very few issues, especially now that I’m in the second trimester, it’s easy to start thinking that something’s not right.  The span of time between visits is just a bit too hair-raising for me.  I have to admit that I’m pretty relieved to have so few issues so far.  But sometimes it feels like I’m not really pregnant, and that’s one of the most nerve-wracking feelings right now because of the miscarriage.

I’ve got other questions of course, but those two things seem to be the most prominent in my brain lately.  I definitely wonder about weight gain or loss that happens during pregnancy, considering where I started.  Exersize, of course.  I’ve been doing rather well with what I’m eating, and eating enough, and getting enough liquids, but I’m still having some issues with constipation.  Hopefully just upping my intake of natural fiber will help, and maybe it will pass eventually.

Well, I guess that’s enough speculation for one day.  I’ll update after I get back from my appointment on Friday.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

