16 Week Appointment.


Following up as I promised.  🙂

We attended my 16 week appointment with the OB this morning.  It was relatively uneventful, and it turns out that there is a bit too much conflicting information out there, and I have been reading too much of it.  Which honestly doesn’t surprise me too much.  I’m generally very good at not letting those things bug me too much, but those that aren’t close to me will see my mention of something as “worry” when it’s really little more than honest curiosity.

Which is why I made the point to ask them about the things I’d been reading.  I knew in the back of my head that I was likely perfectly ok, the placement was fine and everything was on schedule, and it was.  But it bugs me that some people are so patronizing when it comes to asking those questions, obviously thinking that I’m becoming some believer of everything I read.  I think that is one of the biggest issues I have with most people outside my circle of friends and family.

That honestly bugs me far more than any conflicting information I find on a particular subject.  I’m more than capable of thinking rationally about the information given and come to my own conclusions.  But asking questions is sometimes necessary and we shouldn’t be made to feel stupid or looked down upon or looked at falsely for asking those questions.  And I know it’s not always intentional, but the condescending tone that people get because they hear these things often is just not professional.  It’s human, sure.  But being able to put a cork in it long enough to deal with a patient or a customer for a few minutes shouldn’t be that hard for someone who has been in a particular profession for an obviously long time.

Anywho, back to talking about the actual appointment.

I did get my flu shot today and my arm is a little sore, but otherwise I’m feeling pretty good.  We discussed pain levels which have been pretty normal, we discussed vitamins, and it turns out it’s ok for me to not take the ones with iron because it’s causing such an issue with constipation.  My blood iron levels are fine, so my diet has been good enough in fulfilling that, so the vitamins with iron were basically over-dosing my ability to handle iron.  That made me pretty happy. 

My uterus is about the size of a cantaloupe now, which let me tell you…isn’t exactly comfortable. 😀  But hey, at least it’s not overly painful.  It has shifted a bit up, but it’s still very low which is apparently normal now.  Hopefully within the next month there will be a more noticeable shift up and bending at the waist won’t be so much of a problem for me.

We’ll have to see when I go in for my sonogram/ultrasound on October 21st, just how far things progress up.  But around 20 weeks I was told that there should be a bit more of a noticeable movement of the uterus. 

Now that I’m 16 weeks, I’ve been wondering more and more about when I’ll be able to start feeling the baby move around, and it has definitely gotten itself stuck in my head.  The other night I had a dream about the baby moving (noticeably) for the first time, and it was a bit over-exaggerated of course.  It was a bit comical, and in the dream James was there and I was able to put his hand there for him to feel.  It felt and looked like a break-dancing fetus flipping around in there, it was so intense.  I know it’s not going to be anywhere near  that kind of thing the first time I feel it, and I know it’ll be a while before he’ll be able to feel it for himself, but I am so looking forward to that. 🙂

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

One thought on “16 Week Appointment.”

  1. When I was pregnant with Ariana, I had a dream that she stuck her little hand through my stomach. Extremely creepy, but I understand exactly what you’re talking about. All of my dreams were way more vivid when I was pregnant! BTW, I’m so happy for you ❤

Leave a Reply

