Week 17


Titillating title, isn’t it?  😀

Well, another week gone, and things sometimes feel about the same. 

Some things don’t feel the same, and I’m still happy that I don’t feel worse than I do.  The heartburn has been going back down again, which is certainly nice.  The pains are about the same, but that comes with the territory.  My uterus of course is still getting bigger, but it’s also moving up at a higher rate.  From what we’ve been able to figure out, it’ll move about an inch every week now, which definitely accounts for the discomfort and pain from time to time.

However, the strange night by night differences in how I sleep is still mystifying me a bit.  I slept wonderfully the other night, probably the best sleep overall I’ve had since before I was even pregnant.  I sleep well enough for the most part, but last night was not good.  I don’t know why I was unable to stay asleep, but I was waking up nearly every hour.  I’m not sure how long it took for me to fall back asleep, but for a while there it felt like I wasn’t getting any sleep whatsoever.

I have noticed a change in how I walk already as well..which means my hips are probably shifting out more than I realized.  I think I’m waddling a little already, which is amusing to say the least.  Some parts of the day I barely feel a thing and can move almost normally, some parts of the day I feel like a beach ball and have to move very carefully.  My center of gravity is still changing, which doesn’t help.  I’m even more off-balance than normal, which is amusing sometimes, scary others.

I have noticed that most of my cravings have gone away, I don’t really have specific things I want or need to have, and certainly I haven’t had any strange cravings.  Which I have actually been very thankful for.  No weird cravings,  sending James to the store for strange things at strange times.  Though, my want for sugar or chocolate has gotten worse, and my want for salty has gone down.  I’ve been pretty good at not letting it get out of control, though.

I have switched from the vitamins that the Naval Hospital gave me, to store-bought ones, because of the iron.  They say my levels are fine, so what I’m getting for iron in my diet is enough.  The extra (more than a days worth in one vitamin) iron was just doing too much bad stuff to my system for me to keep taking it.  We’ll be keeping an eye on things to make sure my levels don’t drop, though.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

One thought on “Week 17”

  1. Mary watch out those cravings can still hit lol. But it sounds like you are taking to pregnancy well. The sleep thing has a lot to do with hormones and the spiking of levels and such. When certain ones are high or low (not sure which) you will sleep better or worse. Don’t forget to take into account how differently your mind is working now. You may be thinking about things and not meaning to accounting for getting up and the ever fun extra urination. Take as many breaks as you need and sleep as much as possible as that will not be possible after your baby is born!!!

Leave a Reply

