99 Bottles of milk on the wall….


Ok.

I plan on breastfeeding, as much as possible.  I do not plan to do formula at all.  So it should go without saying that I want a breast pump.  I thought I had it figured out as to which one I wanted, but I’m still looking around.  I have to say…finding decent reviews or comparisons is evading me right about now.

Considering I plan on breastfeeding for the most part, I do not foresee the need to pump all that often, so I decided to look into the Playtex Embrace or the Playtex Petite Double.  They both seem to have good reviews for the most part, of course, a few people here and there that do not like it compared to the Medela.  However, I have seen a ton of reviews speaking highly of the Playtex over the Medela.  So I’m basically tossing the Medela off the list.  Also, considering how…ample my chest is to start with, I’ve seen some good reviews for the Playtex being good for larger chested women.  Another point in their direction.

However, I can’t seem to find any information on whether or not their bottles are necessarily compatible with the pumping system itself.  If anyone has any idea, please let me know, and if there is a wide range of compatibility between bottle brands and pumps, I’d love to know that as well. 

Thanks!

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

2 thoughts on “99 Bottles of milk on the wall….”

  1. I don’t know the Playtex pumps well at all (I have/had a Medela Pump-in-Style and loved it…at least as much as it is possible to love one’s pump), but as a general rule, all of a brand’s stuff is compatible with each other, where applicable.

    I do recall that some brands were also cross-compatible, but I don’t remember who. Try http://www.kellymom.com, maybe, for thoughts? (If you haven’t found kellymom already) The forums might have some info.

  2. FINALLY! I found the most inclusive information I have found all day about the Playtex system.

    •Small, lightweight and portable

    •The dual-action Soft Comfort® pump massage and suction cups have been clinically shown to increase prolactin, encouraging a fast let-down and milk flow that’s both comfortable and efficient

    •Soft air cushion and wide nipple opening minimizes tugging and stretching of nipples

    •Closed system protects breast milk from bacteria and germs and prevents backup

    •The Playtex® pump is the only pump system that works directly with Playtex® wide bottle systems, as well as most narrow systems. Dual screw ring fits with all Playtex® bottles (including wide and narrow) and most standard reusable bottles.

    •BPA-free Phthalate-free and Latex-free

    •Includes: 1 Pump Unit, 1 AC/DC Adapter, 3 Tubing Pieces,1 “Y” Connector, 1 Tubing Connector, 2 Soft Comfort® Breast Pumps, 2 Breast Cup Holders, 2 Breast Cup Bases, 2 Playtex® Drop-Ins™ System Bottles (4oz) with silicone nipples, 2 Extra Pump Valves, 2 Liner Rings, 2 Sealing Discs, 2 Extra Nipple Rings, 10 Drop-Ins® Pre-formed Liners

Leave a Reply

