Happy Veteran’s Day


Happy Veteran’s Day to my family members in and retired, those that sacrificed, and those that still do. And to my extended family. My pride knows no bounds, and my heart breaks with each loss. And to each of their families that served with them. You are their rocks. Their safe harbors. I love you all.

 

Something I wrote for my husband a while ago.  The first part I wrote, the second was unknown author.

My Husband
My Compass to find my way back home.
My Heart
My Anchor when I need grounding.
My Soul
My Sails when I need to fly.
My Partner
My Lifering when Poseidon is at war.
My Lover
My Chain in all things to keep me connected.
My Friend
My Captain, My Chief Mate, My First Mate.
Words are just so inadequate to convey how I feel. I love you.

Poseidon, dark-haired god of all waters,
by whose will alone do sailors fare in safety.
Lord of the black sea depths, swirling dark and deep,
swift in thought, sure in deed, fervent in feeling,
the ocean’s caprice is yours, O Poseidon;
overwhelming one, I praise and honor you.
Mighty Poseidon, unfathomable one,
I pray to you. You at whose touch sweet water springs forth,
at whose whim the earth breaks open beneath our feet,
whose pure power we feel in our bones and our blood,
show me life’s essence, life’s rage; pull me like the tide;
grant me safe harbor at last, shield me from storms.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

