6 Month Mark!


Well, it’s absolutely amazing to think so much time has passed already, but I’ve reached my technical 6 month mark!  The baby is two weeks behind me, so in two weeks, she will be at her sixth month mark of gestation.

I still feel extremely lucky that I seem to be having a really easy pregnancy so far (knock on wood).  Very few issues, at least not anything that is overwhelmingly annoying.  I mean, a little minor heartburn at night, occassional tiredness, occassional inability to sleep, a more tender back, nothing out of the ordinary, and can’t be slogged through. 

I have noticed a few things that are a little head scratching, however.  I’ve started to notice I have to shave my legs less and less often…like the hormones are causing my hair to grow less.  My moles have become mis-shapen, which I know is relatively normal in some pregnancies and doesn’t mean any kind of skin-cancer problems.  I have checked with my OB and they said to go see my Primary to have them looked at and removed.  I’ve also noticed that my skin is far more sensitive to the heat of water, more than it used to be.  In no time flat I can be red as a tomato on my legs. 

I haven’t seemed to need any slathering with lotions so far, which is certainly nice.  It’s good to know that my skin is staying hydrated naturally for the most part.  Sure, I’ve got to get out the lotion once in a while, but no more than I usually do.  My face has definitely been giving me mixed signals.  Last pregnancy, I had horrible pregnancy acne.  This pregnancy?  I’ve been doing fantastic until recently.  I just hope it doesn’t get worse.

I definitely have to be careful about my breathing, considering that I already have mild asthma.  Flat surfaces do not bother me, as long as the temperature isn’t too cold or too humid.  But that’s normal.  Stairs give me a run for my money in amounts that really do not bother me at all normally.  It’s certainly a bit of an adjustment, having to take a few more minutes in between trips up and down to keep my breathing at a decent level.  It’s a bit frustrating, but I tend to remind myself, that I’m not functioning for just myself anymore.

Seeing myself every day, it doesn’t seem like much has changed, but going by what others have said, things have.  Definitely looking more pregnant, to those that know me.  Those that are just meeting me just apparently assume I’m chubby and gain in a way that makes me look pregnant.  It’s extremely amusing to me, hearing that some people didn’t want to assume, and makes me feel a heck of a lot better about how I looked in my midsection before I got pregnant.  Those that know me and don’t see me often say, “WOW! You’re SO pregnant!”  It makes me laugh.

I made a comment the other day to a friend of mine (likely one of my pregnant ones) that I was still only feeling kicks and movements far down in my uterus, down under my belly button.  I was starting to think she never flips or moves around enough to have her legs anywhere else.  But as today has worn on, I’ve noticed some kicks and movement farther up in my belly and it certainly is a new experience on top of all the other new experiences this pregnancy has given me.  It makes me giggle how quickly some things are progressing once I start focusing on them more.  I did manage to feel a slight kick through my lower belly last week as I was laying down with my hand cradling, and it made me grin like a fool.  Unfortunately it was one of my restless nights, so it was quite late and I couldn’t really get a hold of anyone to tell them. 

I think from here I’ll be able to feel a heck of a lot more through my belly than I have in the past, considering just how strong the feelings have been in the past week from her movements.  It’s exciting, and it’ll be pure chance to feel it, I do not think I am at the stage where I can cause kicks or movement by poking.  That’s about all the updating there is at the moment.  🙂

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

