Catching Up – Week 34 – TMI at the end.


I know it’s been a long time since I’ve posted.  And for that, I’m sorry.

The last time I posted was shortly before December.  Not much really went on during that month for the first couple of weeks while I did things around the house and prepared to travel back east to spend a few weeks between Connecticut and Florida.

I unfortunately got sick a few days into being in Connecticut, a horrible cough and all the fun that goes with it, an infection in my lungs.  Wasn’t pretty, and it didn’t sound nice, either. But I got through it, unfortunately having to take some OTC medications that I generally hate taking to begin with, let alone while being pregnant.

Nothing much had changed in the size of my belly at all for quite a while, but I finally hit a growth spurt not long after arriving in CT.  Within a week I had already rounded out some more.  It was neat to see, but it was still small enough that in certain clothing choices, I didn’t look pregnant.  It was still relatively easy to disguise.

My diet remained rather good, I did get some of the things I haven’t been making for myself, like a lot of meats.  I’ve been getting protein from nuts and peanut butter, and other places, but I do get meat when I think of it.  I don’t think to prepare it often, but when we’re out and about, I do make a point of getting meat into my choices since I’ve been doing so little of it at home.  If I do make it at home, it’s been largely chicken, turkey or ground beef.

My “cravings” or need for certain things have definitely been steady through the last few months, once it really started to settle into a set list of things that I was consistently wanting to have.  And I’ve been very happy that it’s been for the most part very healthy for me.  That has made me happy, considering how I started out in my first (failed) pregnancy, with doritos, zebra cakes and orange soda.

I do let myself have the occasional soda, nearly all of the time it’s gingerale or rootbeer.  I do allow myself the occasional bit of chocolate or something sweet, and often not much is needed to sate any craving I have for it.  And often I can sate that sweet need with something like yogurt and granola, or a smoothie.  Which is really nice.

I had that growth spurt mid-late December, and stayed about at the same place for a while.  I got back to the area the second week of January, so that means I’ve been back for just under a month.  In the last couple weeks I’ve noticed another growth spurt, and certainly have felt it as well.  I am very much pregnant, but I still feel as though it’s not nearly as big as it could have been.

My back has been handling it well, as long as I can rest it when needed.  I was petrified as to how painful it was going to be, but it seems I’m handling it very well so far.  A few more weeks and I’ll be in the window where she could come at any time.  But I’m still hoping for full term, and shooting for Saint Patrick’s Day.  I think that would be so neat.  🙂

There have definitely been changes in my body, and now I’m starting to see some of the things I’ve heard other people talking about, which I hadn’t heard before getting pregnant and knowing other women who were also going through a pregnancy at the same time.  And boy howdy do some things change.

One of which last night we discovered after a few weeks of some weird feelings on my part.

Warning:  TMI for some people.

We’ve figured out what I’ve been feeling when I’ve been sitting in a particular position, then even shifting a little and feeling a rather discomfiting THUMP and a moment of pain.  I honestly thought that it was just a matter of engorged lips and pinching them with however I was sitting.  But we discovered during a lotion-up session before bed that it was actually my urethral sponge becoming rather largely engorged.  By itself, it doesn’t hurt, and I don’t really notice the difference.  But it has always been on the larger side from what my understanding is of the average size of some women’s urethral sponges.  So it’s no surprise really just how large it has gotten considering the increased pressure the baby is putting on everything in that portion of my body.  We discussed it at the OB appointment today, and it’s perfectly normal, as long as there is no infection.  Just annoying and uncomfortable.  But hey…things could be worse in that department!  😀

We finally got an ultrasound re-scheduled for a couple weeks from now to just double check up on the baby’s spine.  They had ordered one, but hadn’t told me to schedule it before I left to visit family for the holidays.  So, there will be an update and hopefully more ultrasound pictures!

We’ve also been tossing around the idea of getting a 3D/4D ultrasound done somewhere in town, I think it would be pretty neat.  And it’s getting to the point where we should do it soon!

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

