The First Days – Days Seven and Eight


March 19th & 20th

Today, Zoe is 5 days old.  I started putzing around on the computer today for the first time in a while.  I hadn’t really wanted to before this.  I mostly just wanted to be left alone (aside from James and my parents) and just relax and spend time getting reacquainted with myself and acquainted with Zoe.  I’ve actually made a point of avoiding my phone and my computer since going into labor, until now.  Though, I did thank everyone for their well wishes and congratulations.

Still freakishly swollen from IV fluids.  Drinking a ton of water to combat that, and to be honest, I didn’t think my bladder could hold that much volume!  Though, it’s nice I’m already a few pounds down from the 210 I measured when I got home.  So, this water thing is apparently working.  Curious to see just how much water weight there really is.

My milk seems to still be a bit slow, but I’m expressing seemingly well (at least from the right side, the left is a bit harder.)  Tried out the pump for the first time.  Certainly an interesting experience!  It looks like I’m only getting foremilk from the left side, but getting all the way to the hindmilk on the right.  Hopefully I can balance things out soon.  Only about 1/2 an oz to an oz, but it’s still early on.  They said not to expect much at first, since she’s not needing a huge volume yet.  Not sure how long we’re going to need to use the SNS in order for her to get the right volume to feel sated, and to get her weight up.  We’ll see.  Had another appointment today, two days after her first follow-up.  She was up 4% in her weight at her appointment, so instead of a 12% loss of total weight, she’s only at 8% right now.  So at least we’re going in the right direction.

I had a bit of a meltdown with a rush of hormones when I couldn’t soothe Zoe.  I have the feeling that there might be more of these, but I hope not too many of them.

Took Zoe from the bassinet to lay against me in the bed since I wasn’t moving at all, being all propped up and on my back because of the incision and the swelling.  Only dozed, my hand on her at all times.  She slept soundly.  Needless to say…I was a tired, cranky Momma in the morning.

—-

James had an appointment to go to this morning, and Mom & Dad went to the grocery store for us.  I managed pretty well with Zoe all by myself for a short little bit.  Went pretty well.  Can’t wait to see what James had Mom & Dad pick up at the store for dinner the next couple nights before he heads off to Florida for his sister’s wedding.

I still have some swelling going on.  Less in the hips and thighs, and it seems to be collecting mostly from the knees down at this point.  It’s definitely getting a lot easier to move and get around with the drop in water weight.  It hurts from time to time, with the intense pressure of it under my skin.  Especially in my feet and ankles.

Another day of just vegging out around the house with everyone.  Not a bad deal, but I know I’m going to get stir crazy soon.  Movies, TV, a little laundry.  I can’t believe that Zoe is 6 days old today.  Almost a whole week!

Since I propped Zoe up against me sometime in the wee hours of the morning and she slept better, we’re going to try having her in the bed with us tonight.  Though, both of us are very concerned with co-sleeping, so we’ve made a little bed for her in one of the shallow baskets we have.  This way we touch the basket first, and not her, should we roll over.  But for me, I don’t see me rolling anywhere anytime soon.  I am also sleeping on top of my side of the covers, and her basket will be on top as well, so I’m not worried about the blanket coming up and over her.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

