5 Week Checkup


So, Zoe is 5 weeks old today.  We went in for another follow up.  Her last one was at 3 weeks.  She weighed in at 7 pounds 12 ounces at 3 weeks, and she is now weighing in at 8 pounds 2.5 ounces.  So…  SUCCESS!  We’ve gotten a good milk-flow, she is feeding better from me, my production is better.  So we’re pretty happy.  She does get a bit fussy almost like clockwork around 8pm every day.  Regardless of when she feeds around that time, she wants more.  So she ends up taking between 2 to 4 ounces of formula on top of the breast milk, and passes out.

This helps her get herself settled and down for the evening, and sometimes will want to feed or pacify around 10pm-11pm, and for the rest of the night, she goes down for (generally) 2-4 hours at a time.  It’s certainly nice.  We both are getting pretty decent sleep compared to how bad we thought it was going to be.  The exhaustion and perhaps the hormones from this huge life-changing event has us both falling asleep quickly, and getting into REM sleep far quicker.  We’re both sleeping deeper and more effectively even if it’s only for a couple of hours at a time.

We have been trying to get her to stay in her bassinet more lately, and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.  But we’re becoming more accustomed to her being in the bed with us when she wants to be.  We’re also adjusting to feeling better about all the little things, like making sure she’s at the right temperature, so on and so forth.  It’s so easy to worry a lot about those things, so it’s nice to have a bit of feedback and words of encouragement, which we got today at our appointment.

I have also been working on learning the laying down feeding position in the mornings after James goes off to work and we’ve got the whole bed to ourselves.  The space helps me feel better about it, and since it’s morning I’m less likely to pass back out like I sometimes do sitting up during night feedings.  But then again, it’s hard to fight the prolactin and the oxytocin when you’re already half-asleep.  At least I’m not the only person to have fallen back asleep sitting up during breast feeding.  🙂

Though, I have found that if I poke around on Facebook on my phone at night, I don’t pass out.  I can hold out until she’s done and I’ll generally fall back asleep after that pretty quickly.  But my body generally will wait until she’s quieted down.  Otherwise it fights to stay awake when she’s making noises as she settles herself back down.  Sometimes that takes bringing her back into the bed between us in her little basket.

Oh, and one of these days I’ll get around to actually uploading the pictures from the pregnancy and from the first month of her life.  One of these days.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

