Hemi’s Trip to the Hospital 2/2/2011


Well, the title certainly says a lot.  He’s been having bouts of something, which we can’t seem to figure out.  Here and there he just loses motor skill and the ability to walk around normally, and his head will tilt.

Initially, we thought this had to do with his feline Herpes, which is what we were informed he had by the SPCA when we picked him up.  But, over time, giving him the medication they gave us seemed to do nothing for him.  So, on Tuesday I called the vet clinic here on base, where he’d been seen before.  Describing what was going on, they basically told me it’s probably neurological (this is the front desk lady) and that they couldn’t see him there.

Ok, I get that, they’re limited in what they can do.  But thanks for that momentary freak out from hearing “it’s probably neurological”.  I gave myself a few moments, realized that it was the front desk lady who had told me this, and brushed it off for the most part, until I could speak to another vet.  I did happen to get a recommendation from them to go to the Ridgetop Vet. Hospital here in town, and they had a military discount.  Ok, that sounded good, and it was close.

I called them and discussed the symptoms that I’ve been seeing in Hemi.  They put me on hold, discussed it with the vets, and told me that he needed to be seen soon, but that they couldn’t even begin to say what it was.  Not sure what to do, or think.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

