Mother’s Day – My First…


This is my very first Mother’s Day as a mother. 

It’s a bit of an odd thought…surreal to be honest, to know that I will be celebrating Mother’s Day not only for my own mother, but as a mother.  It’s scary, it’s surreal, it’s heart-warming, and daunting all at the same time.

Now, I am not huge on making massive to-dos about most “holidays”, even my own birthday.  I generally don’t even tell most of my friends when my birthday is, so that they don’t make a big fuss over it/me.  I have even discussed it years ago with James that I don’t want a fuss.  Sure, having it’s recognized is definitely a good thing.  To know it’s not forgotten is nice.  But I don’t like being fussed over.  Why?  I’m not entirely sure.  But I’m ok with that.

I’ve had an incredible last couple of months, beginning with the birth of my baby.  That in and of itself is all the gift I really need, when it comes down to it.  Sure, there’s things we want as humans, but needs are few, but important.  I woke up today, to having a respite from sleeping in the same position (co-sleeping) since James willingly took the bebe in the wee hours into his arms so I could roll over.  Was left in peace to sleep in as long as the bebe was willing to, then woke up and fed.  Glanced in the mirror and gave silent thanks to not feeling or looking like the walking dead for once.  It was a good start to a beautiful, peaceful, lazy day.

It’s still only the afternoon, but it’s been lovely just the way it is.  Spending very quiet, companionable time with my tiny family, doing little things we don’t always get to do in peace.  Talking about what to do or not do today, and being ok with whatever happens.

A new kind of love has been introduced into my life, brought to a rather poignant sweet simplicity this morning with the smile of my baby, to me, her mother, on our very first Mother’s Day together.  And it made me think:

Love is in the smiles of babes.

I am grateful for those I have, and will see in the future, and I wish many upon every single mother out there that is, was, or ever will be.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

