Raising Daughters & Current Media View


So, I just read an article.

This article:  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/nico-lang/trampires-why-the-slut-sh_b_1850940.html
I love how well written it was, and it really gets to the meat of things to really worry about when raising a daughter.  Granted, I have a long way to go before this becomes a huge issue for my daughter, but it is a big issue for all girls, teens and young women out there, and even some “adult” women out there that should know better.

It’s interesting how some of the same issues that have been grumbled about for as long as I can remember, referencing back to prior generations when it came to how women were treated, are being grumbled about to this day.  It seems sometimes like nothing has really changed at the core of society when it comes to the social views of women.

The way women are seen, or attempted to be forced to be seen (image and attitude) while it has changed over the decades in and of itself, the issue of the way women are seen is still there.

The vast difference in how men are seen socially still is the same as it’s been for as long as I’ve been listening to other women of different generations.  And it’s something we’re still managing to instill (wrongly) into our young men and women, and it is starting to trickle even more down to our very young girls and boys.

I’m not so far removed from my days in public school to have forgotten the social caste system that was in place.  The things that were seen as “back slappers” for the boys, as compared to the “hand whispering” for the girls.  Looking back, I thought we as kids were our own society, so removed and different from that of the adults.  I have to shake my head at that, because I realize it’s just a mini-world mirroring that of what we see and engage in as adults.

Kids really do hear and see everything and while they don’t really understand intellectually the things they see and hear, and largely couldn’t hold a discussion about it like we occasionally do as adults, they sure as heck manage to emulate a lot of it quite easily, and quite well.  It’s rather disturbing, the more I really think about it.

People say, all the time, that kids are no longer kids.  And I agree with them.  But it seems to always stop there.  What does anyone do about it?  Can the actions privately of a few concerned parents really hold up against the incredible pressure of the greater social arena?  Can they hold up against the peer pressure wafting down from adult social society into the social circles of our kids?

I would have to say in a lot of cases, no.  It hasn’t and it will always have a hard time unless MORE parents become more aware, and more conscious of these things and really do something about making their kids understand that they need to be kids.  And the older they get, treat them as intelligent beings and really discuss with them the pressures going on around them, and help them find healthy coping mechanisms for the pressure.

We need to stop buying into media, products, behaviors that are turning our kids into tiny, under-developed kidults.

How?  Now that’s the hard part.  How can we deal with the things that are shoved at us, and not end up succumbing to the fashions, the media representations, and our own behaviors around our kids?

I don’t think it’ll be easy.  And with the overwhelming pressure in the media and from peer pressure on the kids…it’ll be a battle.  But I think that if more people work on it from the ground up, it might do future generations some good.

I know it’ll be something I continue to think long and hard about and try to develop in my own life in respect to my daughter, and every single child I have in the future.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

