Pain and the Emergency Room


A quick recap of my last post, in case you haven’t read it:

Some pretty hefty pain in my lower back and hip area, was at it’s worst Thursday evening around dinner time.  Had been feeling achy and sore since a ten mile hike on Sunday, then a sinus infection and a flu shot.  Took Advil before dinner.  Realized after dinner it wasn’t any better.  Tried to relax and went to bed.  Woke up in the middle of the night in tears.  Took more Advil, no affect.  Ended up taking half of a Percocet from my C-section surgery.  Went back to bed.  Woke up feeling ok, day progressively got worse, attempted a trip to the store.  Nearly collapsed on the way back to the car.  Decided to go to ER.

Thankfully, a friend of mine agreed to take the baby while I went to do this.  I have some awesome friends.  I called my Primary Care doctor, but they sent me to the Naval Hospital Emergency.  Thankfully, it’s rather quiet there and things went pretty quickly.  All in all I think I spent about 2 or 2.5 hours there.  They checked for UTI and KI, and thankfully it wasn’t anything to do with my kidneys.  There wasn’t any soreness to the touch up front, so that ruled out my theory of a rather hefty restart to my cycle.  Though, there was a little soreness at the lower center of my back, so they’re thinking that it’s a strain of some sort, either from a bad movement that I don’t recall at some point this week, or a mildly delayed consequence of the ten mile hike on Sunday.

So, considering the breast feeding, there wasn’t much they were comfortable giving me.  Which I figured.  I was just hoping to figure out what it was so I could not worry as much, feel so anxious about it and be even more tense, which made it worse.  The worse my mood, the worse I felt.  Since they’re thinking it’s not my hormones, I need to actually take it easy, and not do a lot of lifting or walking until I feel better.  Which is what made me go out to the store yesterday, thinking it was just cramps and that I’d be ok enough to run one errand.

I’ve dealt with a lot of pain over the last more than decade, but this was the worst I’ve had in a long time and for it to put me in tears multiple times in less than 24 hours, was certainly strange.  So, here I am, attempting to stay relatively prone, but without getting too sore in one position, and without going completely stir crazy, while also taking care of a baby, and the husband working.

Ah well.  🙂  C’est la vie.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

