A fountain of spit up…


I am now vaguely aware of how much breast milk I can be carrying at any given time, considering how much my baby just spit up on me.

I now also know that sometimes she’ll eat when she doesn’t have the room for it.  And during bedtime routine…I probably shouldn’t push the issue, and find other ways to soothe her myself.

For quite some time, it was the only way to get her to go to sleep in the evenings, which I didn’t mind most of the time.  But it seems she’s either going through a stage, or is starting to grow out of this particular evening need.

Lately, she has been going to sleep far better and quicker for my husband, after feeding with me.  Which generally is after a dinner time spent working on her puree foods, and the occasional finger food.  (http://www.babyledweaning.com/)  Then her bath after “dinner time”.  Before this, she would spend a little time after bath time just hanging out with us, then she’d feed from me and she’d fall asleep on me.

Her routine of choice is definitely changing, and it’s something we’re both attempting to adjust to, without trying to force the routine we’re used to on her.  This was definitely a learning experience in just that.  She hasn’t seemed as tired during her bed time routine, seeming to only snack from me, then be awake and ready to go.  But it doesn’t always last very long.  It can be a few minutes to about half an hour before she really rubs her eyes a lot and fusses.

Though, last night was just plain out of the ordinary.  She didn’t want to go to bed at all, anywhere close to when she usually ends up falling asleep.  So we took her to bed instead of trying to get her to fall asleep to put her in her crib.  She still was quite awake for about half an hour after setting up for bed, so I took her upstairs to change her diaper just for the sake of doing it.  It was nearly bone dry, and she rarely fusses over such a small amount.  But, it seemed getting up, going upstairs and going through a diaper change did something.  Back downstairs, set up for sleep, and set her up to nurse.  She nursed, and eventually went to just pacifying on me, and eventually fell asleep.

Tonight is also a bit of a curve ball, with the massive spit up explosion we just had.  In her entire short life, she’s never spit up that much.  I would say she spit up more in this evening in a matter of a few minutes than she has collectively prior to this.  But she seems to be perfectly ok despite this.  Let me tell you, it scared the crap out of me.  But she didn’t cry, wasn’t upset, didn’t seem to be in any pain…

I’m still on edge.  Very much so.  I’m not sure what kind of sleep, if any I’m going to get tonight.  Just another hurdle of the adventure of parenthood that I’ve got to work through.

 

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

3 thoughts on “A fountain of spit up…”

  1. Was she warm at all??? Is she playing with her ears or sticking her fingers in her mouth a little more than usual??? Are her gums red?? It almost sounds like she teething to me, but you never know.

    1. She’s been pretty snuffly for over a week. But she hasn’t seemed to have a temperature past her usual one when she gets her shots, which she got last Wednesday. She hasn’t seemed at all out of sorts other than not really napping. She hasn’t seemed more upset than usual, she hasn’t been tugging at her ears. She plays with them a lot. Has since she figured out they were there. She just kind of sits there flicking them when she’s quiet/tired. She’s been drooling more, and chewing on things more, but it doesn’t feel like anything is trying to come through. So I’ve just been trying to wing it and just get through this extended period of changes she’s been having.

      1. Well be prepared for it. She almost the right age, the drooling, stuffy nose, and no eating as much at one time could be signs. I remember when Breanna got her first teeth. She never really fussed about her mouth bothering her, never got fevers, and her teeth would piggy back each other. Poor kid but she was a trooper. Although she didn’t eat as much at one time and she would get ear infections/stuffy nose and stuff like that. Your blog just reminded me of how she was as a baby so that’s why I say that. Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

