7 Months


So, a few days ago, my little peanut hit the 7 month mark.  It’s really honestly hard to believe just how quickly the months have flown by so far.  Which I’m pretty sure I’ve said before, and I will most likely say again.  Then it will be in reference to years.  I have no doubt.  I have heard it often, and still hear it, and I don’t doubt it’s accuracy.

So as of late, she’s been getting up onto her knees and rocking back and forth and promptly flopping onto her belly.  She’s getting a bit better at staying up on her hands and knees for longer period, but is not in forward motion yet.  At least not in that position.  She is starting to army-man crawl it across the room when she wants to get to something.

She’s practicing getting her knees under her which is a really good.  She even does it when nomming down on some toy of hers.  She sometimes gets up in that position when she’s frustrated.  She did it for probably the better part of a whole minute today without dropping onto her tummy.

She’s not yet moving all over the place all the time, which is good.  But I definitely need to keep an eye on her more and more.  Her chatter has gone up in frequency as well.  She loves just sitting there talking to herself.  She’s got the dadada sound down, now she’s working on the bababa sound.  She hasn’t done the gagaga sound in ages, but I’m sure it’s still in there somewhere.  She has a wide range of interesting noises, squeals, squeaks, high pitched quiet and loud.  It’s a laugh riot when she really gets going.  And she has of course, the most adorable giggle.  But I’m her mom, of course I’d say that.

I’m in need of reformulating her little play area in the living room to be more appealing to her.  I’m already trying to pass off her swings, since she doesn’t really like them anymore, and is sitting up.  Once she started sitting up, I knew those things were doomed.  But that’s fine.  They’re cute and all, but they take up some valuable real estate in the house.

I won’t be surprised if I never get her back to a bottle, so I’m passing those off as well.  She’s having fun working on her sippy cups, so I’m not too worried.  I am saving some of my smaller ones to use as attachments on my pump so that I can save up some breast milk for her to have later, and to use in her sippy cups.  I’m thinking of passing on her tummy time mat as well, since she’s sitting up so much more.  I like the mats for their easy clean, but the abundance of blankets I have for her work just as well for her to roll around and play on.  I’m hesitant on her other mats, she’s still kind of playing with her kick&play which has turned into a lap-height little piano, but it’s not keeping her attention so much anymore.

The other play mat she has is a bit more suited to her sitting up, since it has two arches and we can hang things from it for both when she’s sitting up and when she’s laying down.  She seems to still like that one enough to hold onto it for a while more.  The legs to her play table are quite high, so I’m thinking that leaving those off until she’s standing is a better idea at this point.

I’ve been trying to work on finding interchangeable toys to hang on her bouncer, since she gets a bit bored with those.  It’s just so unfortunate that these things are so expensive to buy at the store piece by piece.  It really adds up.  I’ve been scouting the kids second hand stores for things that are in really good shape.  So far it’s been a good venue.  But she seems to go through her interest in an item so quick compared to some of the other babies we know.

I really need to make a list of things we need to do still.  And I have a feeling, with kids…that list will never, ever be finished.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

