Laundry, my little hills.


I tend to see and hear a lot of people talking about the mountains of laundry they constantly have to do.

It made me realize just how few clothes in comparison my husband and I have.  Though…with the addition of a child into the mix, that certainly has gone up.  And since she’s grown and is hitting another spurt and is finally in the age-range size she’s supposed to be in (albeit they’re still big on her), she has more clothing.  As of the other day and an incredible haul at a local swap-meet, it’s nearly doubled due to the colder weather setting in.

I’ve been looking at the pile of clothing I dumped onto the living room floor last night, and as we speak, I’ve found yet another distraction from it in writing about it.  I would say that that is sadly amusing.  But it made me think a bit.  Laundry hasn’t really been one of the banes of my housewife-existence.  Still isn’t, even with the added little person in the house.

My habits regarding it is a bit lax at times, sure.  So is for most other people.  I won’t say all, because there are some seriously OCD or anal retentive people when it comes to some things.  I like order, but not to the point of being that picky about it.  I don’t have huge mounds of it around.  I don’t do 8 loads a day.  I do laundry about once a week.  And that’s for all of us.  Generally one load of casual stuff, one load of his work uniforms and one load of her stuff.  And her loads are still pretty small.  And toss in the once a month or bi-weekly whites load.  It’s really not that bad.  And I like it that way.
I know it’s just going to continue to grow over time with her growing and us having more kids.  I get that.  But I think that with the …not really minimalist, but more…realistically manageable approach we have come to have with our wardrobes, I hope to try to extend that to our children.  But let me tell you, holy crap is that hard when there are so many darned cute and awesome things out there for kids.  And I’ve already noticed that I do tend to end up favoring a few items in each category of clothing for her and other things kind of sit, mostly unused.
I know that for myself, I’ve tried to be better about my own wardrobe, not keeping things forever, and getting rid of things I’ve not worn in ages.  (It’s still an uphill battle with some things, others are easier to get rid of.)  My husband’s wardrobe is pretty simple, as most guys wardrobes tend to be, I guess.  He’s got some great staples, and the things we replace most often are his jeans and undergarments.  Yes, I just said undergarments.  Soak it in.  🙂
So I think we’ve managed to keep a pretty good reign on that, and I hope I can get past the urges to pick up every cute little thing she might wear.  That’s one of my long-term goals.  And one I hope to impart onto her as she grows.  It’s not going to be an easy one, but we’ll try.  Reinforcing the ideas of keeping just the things she really wants to wear versus just things she might wear.  I think it’s a good thing to instill in kids these days as a lesson in humility, and moderation.
I know it’s a bit cliche, but it really is an age of excess, especially with kids.  With the computer age came a huge jump in electronics and kids wanting and getting too many danged expensive (and expensive to replace) items.  I do like and appreciate a lot of the things this life has to offer, but I also like simplicity.  Old habits are certainly hard to break (the TV is one of the hardest ones to break when at home right now).  But I want to continue to keep our life relatively simple, but not completely disconnected.  Well, that’s a topic for another post.
Back to the clothing pile sitting on my floor a foot from my foot.  (Yeah, sitting on the floor, shouldn’t be, but I’m trying to make this quick.)
She definitely needed the things I got.  (And I got an insane deal on them.  Two items full price that I managed to find would have cost more than my whole load, brand new.)  This is the Pacific North West, and this time of year straight through to her 1st birthday and beyond, is going to be chilly, cold, and wet.  That’s a good chunk of the year.  Hopefully I won’t need to get much more (depending on how much she grows) until the new year.
But it also reminds me that I need to continue to go through the things she’s had for the past 7 months and decide what I want to keep in-case we have another girl, or just because I want to keep them for her to pass down to her little girl, like my mother did with me.  Another lesson in that is to make room for the things coming in.  Some has to go out before more comes in.  Which I thankfully have done a little of with the swap meet a few months ago.  Though, we couldn’t drop off items to this one due to some medical issues for both myself and my friend.
Next time!  Hopefully this one coming up in about a month, still in time for small cool weather stuff to go out, and maybe a few cold weather things that are bigger to come in.
Well, this is just one of those things on that long, seemingly no end in sight list of life things to do.  Perhaps this will be a kick in the pants to chronicle more of those things, for the heck of it and for the sake of being a reminder to myself.  Yes, writing these things takes time out of my day, but it also re-energizes me and reminds me just how important the little things that are responsibilities are to get done.  I guess I’ll go tackle that pile now.  Especially since she’s up and awake and playing with it, and I won’t have to worry about accidentally waking her up by putting her clothing away.
Back to my climb.  Makes me think of my venture in walking and working my way up to full blown hiking.  Ahh, life.  🙂
Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

One thought on “Laundry, my little hills.”

Leave a Reply

