Gnarly Naptime


So, I thought today’s mid-day naptime was going to go incredible.  She was falling asleep on her own, in the middle of the living room floor, content as anything and in a fantastic mood after a rocky morning.

Nope.

She startled awake a couple times, but seemed ok for a few minutes.  Since she kept waking up, I decided to go put her in her crib, still thinking “I’ve got this in the bag!  She’s tired…she’ll go right back to sleep.”

Oh heck no.

Two snaps and a swirl was all I could picture in my head as I left the room and she started screaming.  And on it went with only extremely brief pauses.

After about 20 minutes, I pulled her out, figuring a nursing session could hurt, she was getting to “that time” anyway.  So we settled in for a good nursing session, which went really well.  She fed off both sides, which she’s been starting to do lately, but going longer between feedings.  Which is fine with me.  At least I’ll be less lop-sided now.

She was falling asleep while nursing, which she hasn’t done in a long time.  Once again I’m thinking “Heck yeah.  This round should be cake.”  She was perfectly content and calm as I carried her into her room to put her in the crib.  I set her down and bam, she starts crying.  I rub her back for a few minutes making the typical soothing sounds.  She calms down for the most part like she usually does when I do this, obviously fighting sleep with every lift of the head and position change.

But I get two steps from the crib and she’s at full blast again.  I figure, she’ll work herself down in a few minutes.  A few minutes go by, she’s still at full blast.

*sigh*
Well, it’s daytime, I’m not going to go the full set of rounds just to get her to nap.  If she’s that determined, I might as well let her stay up for a while.  Hey, she might even eventually put herself back down on the floor again after some playing.  I can hope, at least.

 

 

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

