Thankful #1 – Husband


I try not to get into the habit for feeling bad for the feelings and thoughts that might be negative from time to time, because they are just feelings.  I’ve tried very hard not to act on those feelings, and keep my actions in a realm that I can be happy about, and proud of.  You know, the whole, self-control thing.

But I feel like there are times when a balance that needs to be struck.  And this is one of those balances.  I know that my intent with getting feelings and thoughts out is not a negative intent.  And I also know that I can’t fully help if something that I think, say, or feel has some kind of negative effect on those around me.  But I can at least try to balance out those things with something more positive, uplifting and supportive.

Being that it is now November, Halloween is past, and we are looking forward to Thanksgiving, I want to write about the things that I am thankful for.

The most immediate thing I am thankful for is my husband.  He really is my rock, my anchor, and I couldn’t ask for someone better.  He’s my perfectly imperfect but damned close to perfect partner.

I am thankful that he is who he is.  I am thankful that he is as understanding as he is.  I’m thankful that he is as intuitive as he is.  I’m thankful that we work so damned well together.  I’m thankful that there’s really so little I find wrong with him.  You won’t find me being one of those complainy wives.  I’m thankful that he loves me.  I’m thankful that he enjoys my company.  I’m thankful that he wanted to start not only a life together, but a family together.  I’m thankful that he’s as wacky and silly as I am.  I’m thankful that he loves to cook as much as he does, and is willing to teach me.  I’m thankful he’s willing to metaphorically slap me upside the head when I need it.  I’m thankful that he lets me cling to him when I do, and I’m thankful that he gives me my space when I (rarely) need it.  I’m thankful that we have so much in common, yet so much not in common.  I’m thankful that he helped me find the beauty in myself and in the world again.  I’m thankful that he gave me the incredible miracle of life that is my little baby girl.  I’m thankful he puts up with my idiotic moments.  I’m thankful he smiles with soft indulgence at my more manic, hyper moments.  I’m thankful that without words, he can make me feel better.  I’m thankful that he’s human, and reminds me that I’m human too.

I could go on and on and on, and I probably will add more at some point in the very near future, but I think for now, this does pretty well in my eyes.

 

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

