Sleep Training: Progress?


I might be jinxing myself with this post, but here goes.

As of last night, and just now, she’s going down easier.  She went down incredibly easy last night.  So much so it weirded me out for more than an hour.  I went in and checked on her a few times, and even sent James in once to make her move.

Yes, I still worry about her when I don’t see her move much.  Not sure when that’s going to wear off some.

I did start using a tiny bit of Lavender essential oil near her crib yesterday, so I don’t know if that has had any direct impact on things, or if she’s just gotten the idea of just going ahead and getting her nap/sleep done and over with.

She didn’t sleep as long as she has been with the crying rounds we’ve had lately, but at least she went down without much fuss.  She also slept better once we brought her downstairs into our room last night, giving us all the decent night sleep we needed.  She wasn’t nearly as fussy after her 3am feeding, and was falling back asleep rather well.  We all got up around 7:30am this morning.

She did nap from around 9am to about 10:30am, which was really nice.  Well, for her it was nice.  I was stuck with her on my lap since I didn’t want to move and wake her up, so I was a little stiff and sore when she finally did wake back up.  She seems to be napping every 2-3 hours in the past couple days.  Which makes me wonder if she’s going through another growth spurt.  She doesn’t seem to have them all that often, but they don’t seem to last long, and she only does a bit of growing in each one.  Nothing overly noticeable, aside from her first real growth spurt in the first couple months when she jumped from newborn diapers almost straight into size 2.

My husband keeps prodding me to not over-think things when she does something easier than I am used to.  But it’s certainly hard to adjust that smoothly between her different swings.  But I’m trying, at least.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

