Choosing To Be Happy


This is something that I’ve been reminding myself of, and I’m glad I found this old writing so I can save it again, and perhaps have it help others.  The day I wrote this was a huge epiphany for me, and one that I’ve had to re-realize many times since.

Choosing to be happy…

by Mary over 2 years ago

I’ve learned that it is far harder (when coming from a place of constant negativity and bad moods) to -make the choice- to BE happy and t force yourself to smile.

It’s absolutely a choice in my mind.

It’s so easy to wallow, to focus on the negative things, to let yourself fall into depressive states (with the acception of chemical imbalances).

It’s harder to make the choice to smile, to be in a better mood, to not focus on all the bad things. It’s harder to continue to make that choice minute to minute, day to day, to remain as positive as possible.

Eventually it gets easier, as long as the maintenance is there, the support is there, and the situations themselves get better. To make the choice to change as many negative things into positive things, to get away from bad influences and to create a better, more positive environment.

But, on the flip side, it’s always good to remember to learn balance in this, to allow yourself times to get out the negative energies one way or another so that they don’t build up and blow up. Times where you give yourself permission to just curl up and cry and wail out for a bit to purge the feelings and go back to feeling centered.

Support in whatever needed form is good, even if it means a verbal or physical smack to get your head straight sometimes.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

