Deciphering Fussiness. What a Headache.


I’ve found up until recently that sometimes deciphering her fussiness was relatively easy.  Now that she’s getting older and bigger, not so much.  And then there are times when she just apparently needs to cry.  I still have issues with just letting her cry sometimes, though.  She doesn’t cry often, so I’ve been starting to think that sometimes she just needs to because she hasn’t.  I know that some people say that babies will sometimes get fussy and cry for no apparent reason in the evenings.  They say that it’s a way to process the overabundance of information that they’ve taken in in the course of a day.  I can see the logic in that.

And since she is often in a fairly good mood, and doesn’t cry every single day, if the above is true…then she gets some seriously built up energy that she needs to get out.

But then there are the factors of whether or not she’s hungry, with the introduction of solid food, it’s been interesting learning to read her more accurately regarding that.  Some days she mostly nurses, some days she seems to pound down a ton of food and snacks.  And with that comes the constipation and gas.

And dealing with getting her the right amount of naps during the day as well.  That can sometimes be very easy…and other times be a complete battle.  Sometimes it seems like she naps like crazy, which makes me think that she might be hitting a growth spurt, other times she seems to catnap.

I’m starting to realize that simple comments here and there sometimes make people think that things are way crazier more often than they really are.  They’re really not.  But that’s why I have a harder time when she does have her really bad days, because I sometimes just feel at a complete loss of what to do.  She’s so good, so happy, so content most of the time her bad days really throw me for a loop.

It doesn’t help that so many things I want to do right I just can’t because of everything else going on.  But that’s the life I suppose.  Sometimes you have to make do with things as they are and get really, really creative.  But when tired and stressed and hormonal, creativity is often the last thing I can be.  But I’m certainly trying.  I honestly can’t wait for things to calm down, for all the little projects that seem never-ending to just be done with, and be able to worry about a whole new set of little projects.  Some of them have been looming over me for way too long.

Wow, way to get off topic. 😀  Ah, yeah.  That’s how my brain has been functioning lately.  And it’s all because of tons of things needing to be done and stress over trying to find the best way to deal with them.  The crazier things are, the worse my ability to think straight is.  Who would have thought, considering the bomb range my room tended to be growing up, much to the chagrin of my mother.  Sorry Ma!

I need to have more order, more organization, more structure.  But without things getting done, and with certain things constantly looming, I just can’t function as well as I would like.  And I think that some of that stress is rubbing off on the baby.  I have been trying very hard to just put aside the “mess” in my head and just be as silly as possible with the baby lately.  And it seems to be working.  For her.  But it’s leaving me even more stressed when I sit back down and look around at all the things that need to get done that I just plain can’t do myself.

So, fussiness has been not only from the baby, but from me as well.  Which is not a good combination.  Not at all.  I especially feel bad for James since he gets to deal with the both of us being crabby.  I know that stressful times will happen.  But I just want this particular set of stresses to go away and find a place of peace for a while before the next set of stresses.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

