Obligatory Poop Post


Yes, that’s right.  It seems that most parents eventually get used to talking about poop after kids.

Heck, I became comfortable with it a long time ago, when I realized that being able to talk about bodily functions is good for your health.  Literally.  Knowing, and being able to discuss such things with partners, and doctors really is good for your health, and everyone should just get over their discomfort with it.  It’s going to happen, and being able to talk about it might put you on a healthier path in life.

Ok, poop rant over.

I’m happy to report that we’re working through the worst of the beginning stages of her poop progression.  She’s regularly pooping more solidly.  Which means I’ll be able to go comfortably go back to cloth diapering when we’re at home.  (Much easier to clean!)  We’re getting past what seemed to be the worst of her body adjusting to more solid foods, and the harshness of what was being expelled and the worst diaper rash she’s ever had.

She’s a trooper though.  She had a period where it would make her cry to get anything at all out, which broke my heart every time.  But thankfully the upset didn’t last long and once it was out, she was ok again.  I did feel particularly bad about her rash, because changing and wiping her was so uncomfortable for her, even setting her down to sit in the bathtub made her whimper.  But she always seemed to quickly adjust and get on with the fun!  (Which reminds me….new bath toys are on the horizon!)

I’m also happy to report that she’s pooping once to three times a day.  I still get a little worried when she doesn’t poop for a day, but it resets itself soon enough.  Pretty much exactly when I’m starting to worry too much about it.  BAM!  She poops.  And lets me know.  Speaking of letting me know, she has even gotten into the habit of pulling out the things needed to do a diaper change when she’s pooped.  She doesn’t do it every time, but often enough to let me know that she’s communicating about it.  Which is easy enough for her since we don’t use the changing table anymore.  She’s too danged squirmy for that thing and has been for a long, long time.  Heck, diaper changes are an Olympic sport in this house and sometimes require two people.  Otherwise, I have to be ok with letting her get rather upset about being held down long enough for a lick and a prayer diapering job.

Thankfully though….there’s far less probability of blow-outs.  So those kind of ridiculous looking diapering jobs aren’t as big of a deal anymore.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

