The Start of a New Year


Well, the Holidays are over, and I feel like I’m finally relaxing a little.  Feels nice.  Things didn’t turn out the way we’d wanted them to, but that happens from time to time.

I’m still very much fighting this odd negative mood, but I’m working as hard as I can on it.  Trying to stay as conscious as possible of where my thoughts are, what my tone sounds like, and so on.

But one thing I’ve found that brings me pure joy no matter what is definitely my daughter.  Seeing her grow and progress and change and learn…it’s just amazing.

As I believe I may have mentioned in a past post, I was a bit unsure of whether or not to give the baby certain gifts before Christmas, or on Christmas.  Well, most of it ended up waiting until Christmas.  But I have strangest feeling that some of the things she started doing on Christmas, she may have done earlier, had we gotten her these things earlier.  But that’s neither here nor there, more of a “what if” kind of thought.

We got her a toy for her to pull herself up on (which she’s been doing for a while), and to walk with.  She did it on Christmas evening.  And has been pretty confident with doing it since.  She is even walking while holding onto our fingers, as well.  She gets a little over-excited at times and pushes it out too far in front of her, but often will just giggle and proceed on her knees, or flop over.  She doesn’t seem to be overly put off by the tumbles she takes most of the time, which I’ve been very thankful for.

It’s amazing how many things she’s been doing, her balance is becoming quite amazing, the way she moves on the floor is so sure.  She moves from laying down to sitting to kneeling, to all over the place, bounces and wiggles and squirms with little to no fear.  Definitely a handful a lot of the time, especially up off the floor.  Makes for some heart-pounding moments, that is for sure.  Her topples are fewer and fewer for the most part, depending on what she’s doing.  Though I foresee them gaining in frequency again because of her trying to stand more without supporting herself.  She started a couple days after Christmas letting go of the things she propped herself up again and standing on her own for a few seconds.  She’s turning her body more when she’s standing and supporting herself with only one hand/arm.  She even just leans her chest against things and uses both arms and hands for whatever she’s interested in at the moment.

A few days ago she started raising up off her knees or tush while playing with a toy, supporting herself on her hands on the toy in front of her, often so low that she mostly just sticks her tush up in the air and bounces a little.  Mostly on the bongo toy we got from a friend.  She’s starting to do the same thing straight off the floor which has made me a bit nervous.  I do believe it’s the start to her lifting herself to stand alone with nothing around her to support herself on.  Between that and the walking with her toy…she’s on the fast track to being a self-walker.  I honestly predict she’ll be walking by herself by 10.5-11 months.

Now to see if she’ll get a growth spurt in that time.  Her feet are still so tiny and chubby that I’m almost worried that they’ll be a hindrance to her becoming a walker.  I’m not overly concerned with her height so much, neither of us were all that fast in that department growing up.   She’s still in some 6 month clothing, and very much depending on the brand, things that are 9 month are still too big on her.  No big surprise there.

I am seeing some growth at the least, some of her things are getting a little smaller on her.  Some of her bigger 3 month things are finally not fitting her so much, either.  Lots of things are getting set aside for a possible second girl down the line.  Which reminds me, I need to figure out how I want to store the clothing I want to save.  Yay.  One more thing to add to the list of never-ending organizational and storage projects.

Her vocalizing is certainly growing as well, and has come back into full swing lately.  During her time of serious Mommy-attachment and separation anxiety (even from room to room) she was a lot less vocal, unless she was upset.  During her time as she readjusted back to being more social and accepting of other people, she was still pretty quiet for a while.  Very observant.  Now she’s gaining so much confidence and comfort again that she easily goes into her own little world and just babbles away.

And it’s not just when she’s in her own little world, either, she definitely is trying to communicate more pointedly with us through vocals.  She’s gained a pitiful little whine when she wants something.  And she’s starting to get upset if something is taken away from her, or she’s not allowed something in particular.  Though, she is at least retaining the ability to self-soothe in a short amount of time once she realizes that she’s not going to get her way with whatever it is.

Her sleeping patterns still fall back a bit on a handful of wake-ups at night sometimes, but it’s becoming more regular for her to sleep for longer periods.  I’d say the “norm” at the moment is about 5-6 hours before she wakes up.  And in the last couple nights, she doesn’t get upset and call for a feeding, either.  Sometimes she’s just simply awake and in a very good mood and will play in her crib for about 20 minutes before settling herself back down for a little while longer.  It generally is less than an hour after she puts herself back down that she is finally ready for a feeding.  But I’ve learned that if she seems “too awake” and playful, that I shouldn’t try to feed her in that state.  She doesn’t feed effectively and ends up having a hard time being ok with me putting her back down for the rest of the night.  So I’m learning to just wait for her to put herself back down tired, and get back up after for a feeding, so that she is tired when I put her back.

 

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

