For me it is Yule. For you it is something else, just as special.


Tomorrow night is The Longest Night, where I am, it will be dark for more than 12 hours in a 24 hour period. It is the Winter Solstice. It is Yule. It is in turn the darkest day period of the year, and it is yet the rebirth of the sun. It is the ushering in of longer days and shorter nights and warmer times to come. It is a time for me to mark the passing of the calendar year, a time to reflect and also to look forward. It is a time for introspection, and to take stock of life and deed. For us in this part of the world, it marks a time when it is dark and cold. A time where it seems we almost come to life even more to in some ways combat the seeming deadness of the season. But as with all things in life, there is a cycle and where death happens, there is rebirth, from it comes life. Where there is sleep, from it things awaken. Many things hibernate, innately trusting that they will awaken with the return of longer days and shorter nights. It is a time that I have started to reflect more and more on the energies of life and to find comfort and beauty and hope in all that I can. To embrace all the facets of life instead of fighting against them. To find more inner peace, to nurture the bud so that it may bloom, each and every season.

It is a season of many celebrations. For many people. To honor the celebrations of others, is to honor people. To honor humanity. To honor each other, and ourselves. Find the warmth in each other be it from a smile, a greeting, or a wish for wellness. Be it from strangers, or acquaintances, friends or family. Cherish those that are there, and those that are not. Cherish that we have this life to live, and that we are approaching yet another year that we are being given.

The bounty of life, the harvest, is not just about what we’ve managed to put in our pantries to help us make it through the winter. It is far more than that these days for most of us. For some, it’s about exactly that, and their prayers and wishes that they manage to make it through. Be thankful for the bounty in your life, no matter what shape that bounty takes. Be thankful for the love in your heart, and in the heart of others. Let that love humble you, let that love embrace you. Do not hide from your faults, your falters, your missteps, your mistakes, your humanity. Embrace all of yourself so that you can learn, and grow and bloom over, and over and over again. Always continue to strive to *really* be the person you want to be. It is not about resolutions, or idle traditions, or just once in a while.

I’ve found my complacency in life time and time again, but each time, my resolve becomes a little stronger each time instead of weakening. I have also found that peace, tranquility, quiet, and time does not necessarily equate to complacency. A time to heal is something all people need, and heal we do, from so many things in life, from the small to the big. From the obvious to the innocuous. Healing is something that should be embraced wholeheartedly in any form it need be. A part of that healing is in the discovery, acceptance and ultimate understanding of myself.

I adore my family. I love them. I love my friends (essentially chosen family). My love comes in a different form than that of other people at times. Yes, this is a time often for family. And that I do believe. And with my family I am, in heart and mind, if not in body. My heart swells so often with the overwhelming love I have for those in my life, even if I am just often watching from afar. I am consistently moved in many, many different ways by my family and friends. I bid all of you to hear it in your hearts, the love mine has for you, whatever form it comes in. Accept my love in the best form it knows. You are always in my mind, and my heart.

Tomorrow is The Longest Night, the Winter Solstice, Yule. And for some, it is Shabbat. And soon, for others, it will be Christmas. And for some, it might be Kwanzaa. Or heck. Humbug Day. Whatever it is you celebrate, celebrate it well, celebrate it with an open heart, and with all the love that you have

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

