Almost 2 Years Old.


It’s that time again.  I’m sure I either waxed poetic or claimed I wasn’t going to wax poetic about my child turning one.  Well, my child is now about to turn two.  It’s been months since I’ve written anything, and a heck of a lot has happened since then, both in general and with my ever growing child.

It is hard to believe that two years have gone by since I gave birth.  It’s hard to believe it’s been a year since we did her first birthday photos.  It is even harder to believe that it’s only two days away, and three days until we celebrate it with some friends of ours.

I can’t believe my child has gone from toddling around awkwardly to awkwardly running all over creation, climbing on everything, and talking up an absolute storm.  She’s forming full sentences, with appropriate structure and everything.  Sure, not all the time, but she’s swiftly moved from two and three word phrases to full on sentences involving up to six words at a time.

Her problem solving skills have grown exponentially, she’s definitely a thinker.  Her faces of concentration are pretty awesome.  She loves her flash cards and loves playing the matching game with them.  She’s quite good at it.  Her vocabulary is growing and growing every day.  Her pronunciation is of course shaky at best, but hell, she’s not even two yet.

She may still be quite small, seeing as many 18 month olds are her size, including her cousin, but she really has been growing in her own right lately.  She was about 20 pounds, a hair over at her last appointment for shots which I held off until she was 20 months old.  Now she’s floating around 23-24 pounds.  She’s gotten noticeably taller as well.  Though, it’s still pretty humorous to go through her clothing and put away things that are as small as 9 months!  Quite a bit of her 18 month things are still rather large on her, and mostly the pants are what gives her issues.  We can get away with lots of sizes for her tops.

She is certainly going through a lot of the pretty typical toddler things.  She has her times when she has her fits over everything, small or large.  And I know intellectually that it’s just the stage, she’s struggling to understand and be understood with a less than effective method of communication at this point in her life.  But I’m also seeing that the more she’s really starting to put more and more things together not just in her mind, but also through her speech, she’s calming down a bit here and there as we are understanding her more and more.

There is definitely the expected frustrations for her as well as for us.  We are imperfect beings, and she is learning how to communicate, and we are re-learning how to communicate.   It’s a huge learning lesson for us, not just as parents, but as adults.  It’s a struggle at times to find the most effective ways to communicate things to her, but also to find the patience in the more rushed and stressful moments in our lives.

All of it is beautiful.  It’s a reminder that life is so much more than the tiny little orbit we tend to create for ourselves as we grow and age.

Recently being able to meet and spend time with the new additions to our extended family, it really is a stroll down memory lane, back to some of the stages in the past two years our little girl has gone through.  She has a younger girl cousin, 6 months younger.  And the difference 6 months makes at this early stage in life is markedly different.  She has two brand new little boy cousins, right now only just over a month old, and of course it brings us both back to the time just after Zoe was born.

We’re raising the next generation of children in our families.  It wasn’t that long ago that we were still “the next generation of children” in our families.  I can only imagine that perhaps our own parents may have come to a similar realization and contemplation at the time they started their own families and started having their own children, us.  I wonder now whether or not my own child, her cousins… will they also have a point in their lives down the road where they realize this for themselves?

Two years old.  It seems too quick, too soon, but also is only the very beginning of a hopefully long, healthy, beautiful, and adventurous life.

Two years old, and I can only hope to help my child grow into a good person.  They will make their choices, as I know we have.  I can only hope to perhaps urge my child to be a thinker, regardless of the choices they make.  I hope I can show them the support and love I have for her in her growth and self-discovery.  The possibilities of what is to come as “dictated” by experiences past, and the kinds of stereotypes that always hold some semblance of truth from generation to generation terrify me.  But I welcome the challenge.  We made this huge choice to have a child.  I will continue to try to rise to the occasion.  To hold to that decision and to do the very best that I can and have as few regrets as possible.

Zoe, my love, my heart, you are a piece of me, and I can only hope that that piece becomes greater than my whole.  I love you.  To the moon and back, I love you.  I only hope you grow up to know in your heart that I do, that your father does.  More than anything in this world, more than ourselves, we love you.

Happy Second Birthday.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

