Bitch Memes… Never were my thing. But here’s one for you.


I am Fierce.  Fierce in my convictions, my morals, my love and my emotions.  It doesn’t mean I have to be loud.  My quiet can be just as, if not more fierce than any shout that might fly from my lips.

 

I am Powerful.  Powerful in my mind, my heart, and in my body.  Powerful in the acceptance I have in my life, the decisions I make, the things I do.  It doesn’t mean I have to stomp on other people, it means I can show my power in the ways I help others instead.  And sometimes more importantly, helping myself when I really need it.

 

I do not stand down to anyone.  Walking away isn’t standing down.  Peaceful, silent, or quiet refusal of someone’s wrongness in my life isn’t standing down.  It’s standing up, it’s walking straight, and on the right path to where I need to be.  Fights, or confrontations are by far not solutions to most problems.  Refusing to feed someone’s need for a fight is never backing down.  Let them see the straight line of your back as you walk away, head held high.

 

I am a strong minded woman.  Strong minded because I’m fully aware of my flaws, though not always able to immediately admit them.  But I do.  I am strong minded because I can accept that I am not always right.  I can change my mind, I can be shown something new and change my views on something.  I am adaptable.  I am strongest when I can admit I am wrong.

 

If that makes me a bitch, then you need to re-evaluate your ideas about humanism, feminism, equality, and women as something equally important as anyone else.  I don’t have to “take back” any kind of word I don’t want to.  I can be all those things without being a bitch, without calling myself one, and without having to for any reason lower myself  to accept a word I don’t want to accept.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

