I’m still alive, I swear!


Greetings and Salutations!

I am indeed still alive, though quite a bit has happened.

I did mention that we made the trek back from Washington State to South Carolina, and the minor debacles we had in that time, so I won’t rehash that.

We’ve found a house, a lovely thing with a decent sized back yard that is fenced in to let the munchkin roam.  We closed on it the day before Thanksgiving, which was an amazing three weeks after we showed up in South Carolina.  Immediately after the signing we left for Florida to spend Thanksgiving with family.

So!  Since then, we’ve been spending time reacquainting ourselves with the area, getting the house unpacked and looking more like a home.  We’ve gotten pretty far, and the majority of the important stuff done, added some fresh new bits here and there to warm things up.  Oh!  And something I’ve not been able to do before…RUGS!  A small handful of them right now since we have a gorgeous wood-look laminate (trust me, it looks like wood!), but I want to get some more as time goes on.

The Hubs finished up a re-finishing of a lovely USA made vintage piece we’ve been holding onto for a while.  It was missing a shelf and the doors at the bottom, so crafty man that he is, he made some new doors and a new shelf.  After a good sanding, he put a lovely light combination of a sandy color and dusty light blue color with a wax finish.  I do believe he used the Annie Sloan Chalk Paint line.  The piece went in our dining room to display our cook books and store our giant mason jars of staples like sugar and whatnot.

Anywho!  Enough about that.

I’ve been very busy with the usual puttering around the house every day, or errands, but largely with getting my shop on Etsy back up and running.  I’ve done a ton of work since we’ve been here, looking into more/better promoting, new products, new techniques, better pictures, and so much more!  I’m pretty excited with the things I’ve managed to accomplish lately, but there is really so much more I’d like to do.  I really want to make this something more than just a little hobby.  I want to make this a more substantial “job” so I can continue to work from home and be home with my little chitlin.

A big part of that is continuing to get our shared office squared away which has largely been the last thing we’re handling.  I picked up an awesome two piece desk that will go in the office once it’s cleaned up, reinforced and lightly refinished.  It will help give me a place to really hunker down and do things, be better organized and to my husband’s glee, less crafting stuff in the living room!

I honestly can’t believe how many more boxes of “craft stuff” I have to unpack from the move.  I’m almost afraid to see what’s in some of them.  🙂

Another thing I’m excited for is to have a place in the office to set up and actually use my lighting set for product photography!  It’ll be a learning experience, one I’ll definitely need James to help me with, and I’ll miss my love for natural lighting photography, but I hope that it’ll really help boost my sales!

Alright, I’ll stop babbling on and on, suffice to say, I’m back, darlings! (Oh, and can I say, I finally like the set up for adding a new post in WordPress!  Hopefully they don’t change things AGAIN!)

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

4 thoughts on “I’m still alive, I swear!”

  1. Popped over after seeing your tweet to check out your updated site. I like it. Reads easy and not cluttered (reading from a computer, didn’t check from my phone). I also like how the picture at left stays stationary while everything else scrolls. 🙂

    Congrats on the house and move. You did a move similar to mine, from one corner of the country to the other.

    1. wccunningham, Thanks for the feedback! I’m happy with the new look, and I’m happy to hear it’s a good fresh start. I feared that my last layout and theme was a bit too busy. 🙂

      1. The only suggestion I would have is make your “about me” a separate page on your site versus sending the reader elsewhere, maybe even having the aboutme link you presently have on your about me page as a secondary link after some verbiage about you. Hope that makes sense, lol.

      2. I’ll see what I can do, but seeing as it’s WordPress and there’s only so much I can do, as it’s not my own website. 🙂

Leave a Reply

