First Bloody Lip


My poor, just turned three, crazy energy wielding kid just ran full tilt down the hall toward the front door.  Nothing new, she does this a lot.  However, this time she couldn’t stop and ran face first into the door.  Things didn’t seem so bad at first, she did dry a bit, but not her usual “Oh my god I really hurt myself!” scream.  She came running over to me and crawled into my lap and at first glance she seemed okay and I kissed her all over her face.  She buried her face in my should for a minute or two and I rocked and soothed her.  The next time she turned around she had blood all over her chin.

Of course at that point I had to hold back a gasp and a face for her benefit.  Upon a wipe-up and a double check, it was only a small cut with a tiny bit of bruising.  She seemed over the initial shock and was quickly returning to a better mood.  To stave off some of the pain and swelling I gave her a bit of ibuprofen.  It was already fast approaching nap time, so when she told me she was “way tired” I was glad I gave it to her since she still uses a binky for naptime and bedtime.

I just snuggled her and put her down for a nap and she seems content enough.  🙂

Not the kind of indoor adventure I was hoping for today!

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

Leave a Reply

