Crazy Toddler Bedtime


I’m sure plenty of you can relate to that phrase, and the images it conjures up.  (The picture is what usually happens when we get tired of putting her back in bed.  She passes out in the hall.)

Largely my kid is pretty easy, but bedtime has gotten harder and harder over the last few months.  I’m thinking this has to do with a few factors; growth spurts, overtiredness, under-stimulation and/or over-stimulation.

Some days she has a lot going on, other days not so much.  She has also had the same approximate bedtime for a while, with the occasional later than usual night.  Depending on her evening shenanigans, I’m starting to think that sometimes she might need to go to bed earlier.

One of the tell-tale signs we’ve noticed lately is a huge spike in hyperactivity and not listening and temper tantrums.  It has turned into immediate naps mid-day, and somewhat rushed bedtimes in the evening.

Some days she’s not acting up at all, and will willingly go through the long-standing routine of vitamins, teeth, then get into bed and sing three songs.  After which she will get up from her bed and sneak into the hallway from one time to a dozen times.

While we were staying at our friend’s house before buying this house, she actually did quite well with going to bed and staying in bed.  And for a while after moving in here, she did really well.  But after a while it was mainly an issue of her just getting up from bed for reasons we just couldn’t figure out.

Eventually she told us she wanted the door open and a light on, which was fine, and we did just that and she went back to falling asleep easily.  But again, that didn’t seem to last too long.

I have finally decided that perhaps changing up the routine some might do some good.  Today we really started changing things up a bit.  After her bath, we explained that we were going to do “Calm down stretching” as a family.  She did well with it, but was pretty amused and it may or may not have calmed her down some.  Hopefully with time and doing more yoga with me this will really start to work.

We also swapped the three songs for three bedtime stories and just one song.  As I’m writing this, it’s been a few minutes since finishing the song and tucking her in, I hope it was enough to get her to calm down enough to stay in bed.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

One thought on “Crazy Toddler Bedtime”

  1. I loved your post. My daughter is 31 months, haha just kidding she is 2 going on three and a complete monster when she goes to bed. I am not sure why she hasn’t lost her voice yet. If she knew how to turn the door knob I am positive she would be laying in the hall too 🙂 I can relate to hard bed times 🙂

    I would be honoured if you read my latest post and possibly more
    http://abigaildaybyday.blogspot.ca/2015/05/the-bane-of-my-existence.html?m=1

    Thanks for the great morning read 🙂

Leave a Reply

