Backward Steps in Potty Training


So, we’ve hit a bit of a bump.  Somewhat coinciding with her starting her most recent and pretty full-on bout of potty training, she’s also hit quite a new stage behaviorally.

She’s been at times somewhat appalling.  My normally sweet if rambunctious, well behaved child has been lighting a fire under her usual tantrums.  They’ve developed into full blown, screaming, yelling, hitting, kicking, shrieking, exhausting fights.  Over things that generally were never a problem before.  (Only one of the reasons I’ve barely left the house lately.)

She’s also regressing a bit, refusing to wear panties much of the time and wanting diapers again.

She’s also been weaning off her binky, which had largely been going well, and she was pretty well behaved about it being only for nap time or for bedtime for quite a while now.  We definitely realized that she wouldn’t go cold turkey on the thing just yet.

Well, that has been a fight as well.  She’s been wanting it more often, claiming she’s tired just to get it, stealing it from wherever I manage to put it, among many other things.

I’m pretty willing to let her go back a bit at least on the diapers, not so much on the binky, but the tantrums are wearing on me pretty hard.  I really, really hope this is just one of her small spells, and that it goes away soon, because I honestly don’t know what to do about it.  She has always been amazingly adept at listening to us if we explain things, but lately she hasn’t been having it.  Seeing as how I’m feeling lately, I’m hoping that my lack of patience for it at this point is signaling the usual pass in the spell.  The more it wears me down, it usually ends up ending shortly thereafter.

I can only hope.

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

One thought on “Backward Steps in Potty Training”

  1. Hi Mary
    Firstly my condolences my daughter (now 3 1/2) had her tantrums at two (over here it’s called the terrible twos!) And boy did we know about it. She would kick but scratch throw things (all directed at me because I was with her 24/7 and the boring main disciplinarian!) For us she decreased with her eating. She went from being nosey and trying everything to eating only potatoes and chicken (not good for a growing girl) I’m here to tell you it will get better and hopefully share a few tricks. First thing we agreed as parents and with immediate family (Anna’s aunties etc) that we are strong firm and in charge we are the boss and we will not back down. I know this is easier said than done especially when you’re on the tenth tantrum it’s not even noon and you’re tired out but it does work and I feel now that my daughter respects and listens more because I don’t back down. We also introduced an incentive system. Daughter was d enough to know the value of things so we gave her a penny box. Each day we said if she was good or helped mum and dad she could have a penny (value determined on task) it worked and she’s still collecting set on the toy shop trip when the box is full. Also counting yourself up to 20 ignore what’s going on around you breathe in for 5 then out for 5 twice just gives you that few seconds to gather your thoughts. Hope I haven’t waffles on. I’ve followed your blog and saw your struggle and it just reminded me of us 12 months ago. Wanted to try and help 🙂
    Sarah x

Leave a Reply

