The Boys Will Play… Meat, meat, and more meat.


So, as some of you know, James and Kirk started a “stalker blog” as Kirk calls it.  We’ve (mostly they) have been cooking out of the Heritage Cookbook from Sean Brock and his current tenure with Husk here in Charleston, SC., and out in Nashville, TN.

Over time, the plan is to try cooking every single recipe in the book, and blog about each one.  I’m not entirely sure just exactly how many we’ve done.  You can check out their blog here:  Ox and Brock.

Last Friday was the Low Country Boil, which was also the start of preparations for this upcoming Saturday, which will be Heritage’s whole pig roast.  We requested that attendees brought some tidbits.  The big thing was for people to being cinder blocks for the building of a place to roast the pig.  It’s still in the building stage, but it’s certainly progressing.

Of course, I had completely stressed myself out with not just my normal every day stuff, but deep cleaning the majority of our house, decorating for Halloween, and also tending to my Etsy shop.  The idea of that many people being here was certainly not something I was looking forward to because of my anxiety, and thankfully James, Kirk, Kari and those closest to us here were pretty darned understanding and very supportive in getting me through.

DSCF3641

Looks good, doesn’t it?  It was.  It was so, so good.  And the first three batches were completely demolished in no time flat.  Quite a bit of the last batch was leftover, which I’m in the process of turning into (sans all prawn and shrimp) a smooth potato soup with corn and sausage.

Now, it is Wednesday, I’m calmer than I was last week, despite the looming whole pig roast on Saturday.  I’m honestly a bit worried about the weather, it’s been cloudy and rainy every day since Sunday, at least.  And the projections for the weekend haven’t looked good the last handful of days, but it’s starting to look a little better.  For their sake, at least.  And…my yard. It already retains quite a bit of water regularly, despite being a bit elevated from the yard behind our property.  Hopefully things won’t get too torn up.

I’m definitely thinking this time around we’re going to possibly also ask people to bring any tent-like things just in case.  We only have the one, and even if it’s sunny, it’ll be nice to have some extra shade.

Rain or shine, though, this this is happening.  I’ll certainly be interesting to see what happens!

Published by

Mary

Wife, student, new first time mother. Crafter and creator. Animal enthusiast. I had a miscarriage in March 2011. But we tried again. March, 2012 was the birth of my first child. Off and on I have been dabbling with small business, trying to get it off the ground since, every so often changing direction.

One thought on “The Boys Will Play… Meat, meat, and more meat.”

Leave a Reply

